About Us


Little Thompson Water District, operating as a Special District in the State of Colorado, is statutorily required to give annual notice to the public of certain basic information about the District: business address, phone number, primary contact person, time, date and location of regular and special Board Meetings, Board member names, mill levy and property tax revenues, and date of the next regular election. The notice has been nicknamed the "Transparency Notice". Open the following link to view the 2024 Transparency Notice.


LTWD is a quasi-municipal corporation and a political subdivision of the State of Colorado formed by decree in 1961.

LTWD was created in 1961 for the purpose of providing water facilities and services for the residents within LTWD’s boundaries. In 1962, LTWD began serving domestic water to a 250-square-mile area in Larimer, Weld and Boulder counties. The service area generally is bounded by the City of Loveland on the north, Longs Peak Water District on the south, the City of Greeley, the South Platte and St. Vrain Rivers on the east, and the foothills on the west. It expanded to include the former Arkins Water Association in 2000 and the Town of Mead in 2002, as well as the Barefoot Lakes Subdivision in Firestone.

LTWD's Mission

Serving our customers with safe, reliable and good tasting water at a fair price.

Who We Serve

Our customers include homes, farms, commercial enterprises and municipalities. LTWD serves 7,500 residential customers and 300 non-residential business and commercial customers. Other customers include the North Carter Lake Water District, Longs Peak Water District, the Town of Mead and portions of the Town, of Berthoud, Loveland, Johnstown and Firestone.