LITTLE THOMPSON WATER DISTRICT

A RESOLUTION CALLING FOR THE 2025 REGULAR DISTRICT ELECTION AND APPOINTING A DESIGNATED ELECTION OFFICIAL

RESOLUTION NO. 2024-29

§32-1-804, §1-13.5, C.R.S.

WHEREAS, the Little Thompson Water District ("District") is a political subdivision of the State of Colorado, organized pursuant to C.R.S. § 32-1-101, et seq. ("Special District Act");

WHEREAS, pursuant to C.R.S. § 1-13.5-111, the District is required to hold a regular election on the Tuesday succeeding the first Monday in May in the year 2025 to fill Director positions that have become vacant through expiration of the term of office or otherwise. Accordingly, the District is required to hold an election on May 6, 2025 ("Election");

WHEREAS, during the Election, four (4) eligible individuals must be elected to fill the positions currently held by Director Szmyd (Ward 3), Director Walker (Ward 1), Director Martens (Ward 2), and Director Brandt (Ward 7), which elected individuals will then serve for a term of four (4) years each;

WHEREAS, pursuant to C.R.S. §§ 1-13.5-108 and 32-1-804(2), the District's Board of Directors ("Board") is required to name a Designated Election Official ("DEO") who is responsible for conducting the Election in accordance with the Colorado Local Government Election Code, the Special District Act, and all other applicable laws, rules, and regulations (collectively, "Applicable Law"); and

WHEREAS, it is necessary to set forth certain procedures concerning the conduct of the Election.

NOW, THEREFORE, be it resolved by the Board of Directors of the Little Thompson Water District in the Counties of Boulder, Larimer, and Weld, State of Colorado that:

- The regular election of the eligible electors of the District shall be held on May 6, 2025, between the hours of 7:00 A.M. and 7:00 P.M. pursuant to and in accordance with all Applicable Law. At that time, four (4) Directors will be elected to serve a fouryear term each.
- 2. There shall be one (1) polling place at the following location: 835 East State Highway 56, Berthoud, Colorado 80513, situated in the County of Larimer, State of Colorado. The polling place located at 835 East State Highway 56, Berthoud, Colorado 80513 shall also be the polling place for disabled electors and for eligible electors not residing within the District. If the Designated Election Official deems it to be more expedient for the convenience of the eligible electors of the District (who are also eligible electors in other special districts with overlapping boundaries which are conducting elections on the Election day), the Election may be held jointly with such special districts in accordance with coordinated election procedures as set forth in an agreement between all participating special districts. In such an event, the election

precincts and polling places shall be as set forth in such agreement. The Designated Election Official (DEO) is authorized to execute such agreement on behalf of the District, which agreement shall include provisions for the allocation of responsibilities for the conduct and reasonable sharing of costs of the coordinated Election.

- Applications for absentee ballots may be filed with the DEO at the address indicated on the Call for Nominations no later than the close of Business on the Tuesday immediately preceding the election day (April 29, 2025).
- 4. The Board hereby designates Kammy Tinney to serve as the District's DEO for the Election. The DEO shall have full authority to take any and all actions necessary and appropriate to conduct the Election in accordance with the requirements of Applicable Law, including, but not limited to, publishing a Call for Nominations, appointing election judges as necessary, appointing the Canvass Board, arranging for the required notices of election, printing of ballots, and direct that all other appropriate actions be accomplished.
- 5. Self-Nomination and Acceptance forms shall be available at the District's office located at 835 E. Highway 56, Berthoud, Colorado 80513. All candidates must file a Self-Nomination and Acceptance form with the DEO no earlier than January 1, 2025, nor later than the close of business (5:00 p.m.) on Friday, February 28, 2025.
- 6. If the only matter before the electors is the election of Directors of the District and if, at the close of business on the sixty-third day before the election (March 4, 2025), there are not more candidates than offices to be filled at the Election, including candidates timely filing affidavits of intent no later than March 3, 2025, the DEO shall cancel the Election and declare the candidates elected. Notice of such cancellation shall be published and posted in accordance with the Code.
- 7. If any section, paragraph, clause, or provision of this Resolution shall for any reason be held to be invalid or unenforceable, the invalidity of unenforceability of such section, paragraph, clause, or provision shall not affect any of the remaining provisions of this Resolution.
- 8. Any and all actions previously taken by the DEO or the Secretary of the Board of Directors or any other persons acting on their behalf pursuant to the Act, the Code or other applicable laws, are hereby ratified and confirmed.
- 9. The provisions of this Resolution shall take effect immediately.

ADOPTED AND APPROVED this 12th day of December 2024.

	By:	
	President	
ATTEST:		
Ву:		
Secretary		

LITTLE THOMPSON WATER DISTRICT